I have had a waffle maker on my Christmas list for at least 3 months, so was very excited to finally get my hands on one and start experimenting.

I wanted to start with my standard recipe i used for my doughnuts (see previous post) I used all the same ingredients but switched the flavouring to a butter caramel.  I bought this from Lakeland and it literally takes half a dozen drops to flavour the whole dish.  I made the batter slightly more runny as i wanted to make sure it filled all the waffle grooves.  Again i left the batter to sit for 30 min – 1 hour.

Ingredients

  • 40g plain oats (your ‘B’ allowance
  • 1 tbsp quark or yogurt
  • pinch bicarbonate soda
  • 1 tsp sweetner (maybe less if you are using a sweetened yogurt)
  • Flavouring of choice, cinnamon, caramel, orange, coconut essence etc
  • Frylight, i used the coconut one to give it more of a sweet rather than savory flavour
  • 1 egg

I sprayed my waffle maker with coconut frylight and left it to warm up for about 5 minutes.

I poured my mixture in the middle of the 2 waffle molds, i found it spread out happily once i closed the lid.  I gave it a little shuffle to make sure it filled all the holes.  I left it to cook for about 3 minutes.  It gave off quite an alarming amount of steam.  Then my instructions for the maker told me to turn the maker over to cook the other side.

20161227_101841

This is the result once it had cooked for about 5-6 minutes.  I think you definitely don’t want to over cook them as they seem to get quite dry.  Unless you want to cover in butter, jam, syrup etc.  But that isn’t quite the aim for a Slimming World compliant recipe!

I served with fruit and a drizzle of Sweet Freedom Syrup.

20161227_102111

I was very yummy and i look forward to trying different flavours and maybe using mash to make potato waffles?…

Enjoy if you make this, and please follow my Blog if you liked this.

