I recently tidied out my spice rack and re-discovered my love for Ras El Hanout spice mix.  So today i threw together these delicous Falafel.  They are baked, not deep fried to keep them nice and healthy.

Ingredients

1 Can chickpeas

2 Tbsp dried cous cous

1 onion

Half tsp Ras El Hanout & Sumac

Quarter tsp garlic

Salt & Pepper

Preheat your oven to around 190° c

20161111_173101

I mixed the cous cous with the same amount of just boiled water, added the spices and left it to swell up whilst i coarsely whizzed up the rinsed chickpeas and the onion in my NutriBullet 

I then stirred the chickpea mixture and the fluffed up the cous cous and formed into approx 12 balls.

20161111_174446

I placed them on a baking sheet which i had lined with baking paper and cooked in a pre-heated oven until golden brown, flipping over half way through.  They took around 20 – 30 minutes to cook.

I served with a salad made from courgette which i had peeled into ribbons with a vegetable peeler.  I dressed this with a warm vinaigrette made from equal parts balsamic vinegar and sweetener.  I heated in the microwave for about 30 seconds until it was bubbling and had reduced slightly.  Then poured this over the courgette ribbons.

This was a lovely light meal, next time i think i would add dried apricots, grated carrot or some dates, as a little sweetness would make it even better.

Let me know if you try this recipe, i would love to know if you enjoyed it too.

20161111_182322

 

 

